ONE OF THOSE DAYS

I know we have all had one of those days when you open your eyes in the morning we should have stayed in bed all day. We should have read a book, watched our favorite movie as many times as we like or maybe even had a picnic in bed. This was one of those days for me.

I think I have mentioned I have chickens. I love my chickens, they give me fresh “home grown” eggs as I call them. I have none the less a bird dog and GSD. When I let the chicks out to free range I can only let one dog at a time out. The bird dog is a big chicken without her buddy (the GSD). Well the chicks were out last evening and some how the dogs were out together. You can only guess what happened. The hen, my only layer that is, didn’t go to roost last evening so I got up bright and EARLY this morning to see if she made it back to the house. NO SUCH LUCK!

I then without thinking to prepare myself for the search, took off into the woods across the creek with the dogs. I’m in my house coat and slippers looking for the chicken and yes Gracie, the bird dog, led me right to the feathers. By this point I am so upset. I have this long house coat on, sweat dripping down my face and seed ticks crawling up my legs like they are running a marathon to find the tastiest spot and my day went downhill from then on. I knew I should have stayed in bed.

This photo is how I felt as the day wore on.

2123907747238

I’m now in bed saying a prayer for a better day tomorrow.

Author: Cedar Creek Adventures

I began my study of plants as a child from my Grandmother, Rosa Leatherman and have continued the study of native plants. I have attended classes at Tom Brown Jr. Tracker School, Earth Walk Northwest by Karen Sherwood and the Herbal Healer Academy by Dr. Marijah McCain. I am a member of the Arkansas Native Plant Society and served as Secretary for 4 years. I have been co-owner of Cedar Creek Nature Studies and taught many classes on wild edible and medicinal plants. I make my own soaps and lotions share would love to share my knowledge with you.

1 thought on “ONE OF THOSE DAYS”

Leave a Reply

